Starbozz’s Blog

My World

Harvest Festival PONGAL 2009!!!

Pongal is a harvest festival, a thanks giving event celebrated by all tamilians across the world. Pongal in tamil means “Boiling over or Spill over”. Pongal is a harvest festival to denote the prosperity associated with the harvest by thanking the rain, sun and farm animals that had contributed for a good harvest.

The Festival originated in Tamil Nadu and popularly known as “Tamizhar Thirunal”. The festival is celebrated for four days to provide sincere thanks and prosperity that the farmers and his work which payed us..

First day –> Jan 13 –> Bhogi

Bhogi is the first day of this harvest festival which is celebrated by throwing away and destroying old materials on fire thereby marking the end of the old and the emergence of the new.

Second day –> Jan 14 –> Pongal

The second Pongal is the main day of the festival. It is celebreated by boiling rice with fresh milk and jaggery in new pots that are later topped with cashew nuts and sugar and allowing it to boil over the pot in the early morning. The moment the rice boils out of the pot, the tradition is to shout “Pongaloo pongal”. Sugar cane is bought and placed in every houses to symbolise the celebration of this great festival in Tamil Nadu.

Third day –> Jan 15 –> Maattu Pongal

The third day of the festival is known as “Maatu pongal” which is a occasion for offering thanks to cattle for their help to farmers in the field of Agriculture. On this cattle are well decorated with paint, flowers and bells and are allowed to roam. The cattle are then well fed with sweet rice and sugarcane.

Fourth day –> Jan 16 –> Kaaanum Pongal

The final day “Kaanum pongal” is to thank the relatives and friends for their support. During this day people visit their friends and relatives to enjoy the pongal season.People flock together at beaches , parks and temples there by having a great day out.

This four day Harvest Festival is to honor the farmers for their hard work.. May god bless them.. Wish you all a very happy and prosperous Pongal..

January 13, 2009 - Posted by | Celebrations, Personal | , ,

39 Comments »

  1. Hi bro! I am happy when you visit my blog. I have link your name in my blogroll too. I hope we can keep our relationship. Thankyou 🙂

    Comment by wahyu | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. may you happy…

    unique festival…like in Indonesia, there a Sekaten

    Comment by thevemo™ | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi star,
    I learned a lot today! 🙂 It is nice to know other culture and tradition of other countries. I enjoyed looking at those photos too. Wow, a lot of people were on the beach. We should all try to enjoy ourselves and make friends instead of war, don’t you think?

    Comment by nance | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. Very informative! I have added you to my site, also! Have a blessed day!

    Comment by Brenda | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  5. This post about the Pongal festival was fascinating! Thanks for the post on my blog and I am you to my blogroll as well.
    Cheers!

    Comment by Sharon Soileau | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  6. I always enjoy learning about different cultures and these photos give a really good insight into the festival.

    Comment by dejagib | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  7. Thank you for this wonderful blogs of yours! I am very pleased to know your blogs! I love Pongal Festival!

    Comment by dennis villegas | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  8. I found it so interesting to read about this kind of stuff. Very informative and wonderful post. Thanks so much for keeping us all informed.

    Comment by Robin Green | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  9. That was very interesting. I’d never herd of Pongal before. I’ glad I came to this site.

    Comment by The Blogger Source | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  10. Interesting… definitely breaks me out of my americanized way of thinking… I love the pictures.

    Comment by Roguedeals | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  11. hi, happy pongal to u and ur family..

    Comment by webinzz | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  12. That was a great post about Pongal. I have never seen any blog or website about Pongal festival. Good Job man.

    Happy Pongal to you too.

    Comment by Vidhya | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  13. Very interesting stuff… I think I’ll subscribe to your feed and stay tuned in your future posts. Thanks so much for sharing such a cool article with us!

    Comment by Gennice | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  14. we call it sankranti. anyway happy pongal!

    Comment by Arjun U | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  15. woahh these images can tell us alot.

    Thanks for sharing your Pongal Festival.

    Comment by sharaaz | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  16. Happy Pongal my new friend. May God truly bless all that you do and believe in. You are a very interesting person! I look forward to our friendship!

    Comment by robinana | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  17. Great site. Nice to see other land’s cultures. I also have blog where I will put everything I encounter her in Papua New Guinea. Thanks.

    http://www.greatestgoal.blogspot.com

    Comment by giojahn | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  18. thanks for visiting my blog! have already added you to my blogroll!!

    Comment by cindyrella | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  19. Happy Pongal! Thanks for dropping by in my blog.. 🙂

    Comment by JeanGrey | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  20. Happy Pongal Star!Thanks for visiting my blog..added you on blogroll..wish you all the very best!:)

    Comment by Laila | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  21. Hello, thanks for visiting my blogsite. I am surprised visiting your blog. The posts are very inspiring. Do you join the PONGAL festival? Hope, you can enjoy it. Anyway, Happy Pongal Star then. Wish you would visit my blog again and again to share something and leave comments there. Thank you my friend.

    Comment by sazka | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  22. hi starbozz..
    tks for stepping bye in my blog…
    Pongal,..nice tradition…
    if you dont mind you may change my name on your blog roll into “bonar sihotang” or “warkop dg bonar”
    because “tentang saya” is mean “about me” in english…:)

    tks bro
    regards,

    bonar
    http://sihotang407.wordpress.com

    i put you blog name in my blogroll too ‘lads…

    Comment by bonar | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  23. Hello India!.. Happy Pongal!..India is wonderful country and lovely culture.. I love indian muvies, sari, and indian dances… Thank’s for visiting my blog, i have linked your blog too 😀

    Comment by Rita | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  24. Thanks for your visit…
    Nice Blog..I Like it…..

    Comment by Mas Indra | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  25. Alhamdulillah Link….ON

    http://bungaliani.wordpress.com/temen-aku-nih/

    Comment by omiyan | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  26. thanks for visiting my blog.
    Pongal! Interesting festival!!!

    Comment by Pandu | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  27. wooowwww…it’s interesting festifal. Thanks for visiting my blog. I like India’s culture. Hmm…Pretty Shinta is my favorite artist. She is very beautiful hihihi…

    Comment by cahayadihati | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  28. Nice reportage!

    Salam kenal! Tuh simbol blognya kayak di kampungku sekarang: Bourgogne/Burgundi.

    Comment by juliach | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  29. nice info..thanks..

    Comment by ala | January 17, 2009 | Reply

  30. I enjoyed your pics..thanks

    Comment by afie | January 17, 2009 | Reply

  31. It’s the cool blog!!!
    Fantastic!!
    it’s nice info.. thank’zz

    Comment by Dinda Watson | January 17, 2009 | Reply

  32. tradisi indihe … aca .. aca … hehe

    Comment by aRai | January 18, 2009 | Reply

  33. It’s really interesting cultural festival, thanks for the information. Looking for new pictures.!

    Comment by Kevin | January 18, 2009 | Reply

  34. wow wonderful culture…

    Comment by hamka | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  35. hi

    Comment by liesamban | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  36. nice bloq… make me fine something new..

    Comment by domiria hulu | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  37. one day i hope you go to kalimantan and make review about ity:D

    Comment by hoihei | January 25, 2009 | Reply

  38. Well Starbozz… Nice blog. And thank you for visiting my blog.

    I have a simple question for you.. Is the blog “oceanstrike.blogspot” is yours too ?

    Thanks. Cheers.

    Comment by Fan | January 25, 2009 | Reply

  39. hiii…can u post about Krishna festival like Ratha Yatra??? i really want to know abaout that festival. thank’s…

    Comment by casual cutie | January 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

