Starbozz’s Blog

My World

Is Split Personality a Reality?

split1I am sure that everyone living in this world is aware of this term Split Personality. But my question is this split personality just a myth or a reality? I was really curious to know more about the cause and effect of this split personality. Yesterday I had a deep discussion with my friend’s uncle who is a pshycatrist in order to know about this issue in depth.

The discusion started. He explained me that this is a Mental Disorder which can defined as a Dissociative Identity Disorder in which a single person exhibit  multiple distinct identities or personalities each with its own pattern of perceiving and interacting with the environment.  This state of mental disorder can also be called as Multiple Personality Disorder.

He also explained me the statistics which revealed that Possible cases of split personality have been reported in the medical literature since the early 19th century, and the condition was formally defined in the first years of the 20th.

Then the discussion went more deep. I asked him about the causes for it. He told that the causes of dissociative identity disorder have not been identified, but are theoretically linked with the interaction of overwhelming stress,  insufficient childhood nurturing, and an innate ability to dissociate memories or experiences from consciousness.

Then i was curious to know how will that individual who is affected by the mental disorder will feel and also about the symptoms. He replied that the individual affected by this disease will suffer from Head ache, Body pain, Depression, Amnesia etc. The individual will lose his memory from time to time and his behaviour and attitude will reflect those of other persons but at that time he will be totally unaware of what is happening around him. I feel that this state is possibly the worst part.

He also added that such an individual must be free of stress and must have peace of mind. Also he must undergo pshycotherapy for treatment. It is better to treat at the early stage of this mind disorder. If not it will take some time to enable him to get rid of this disorder.

I thanked him for helping me to know more about split personality.Thus the discussion came to an end. The clock ticked 10 pm and we dispersed from the coffee shop. I feel that this is really a strange disease related to mind which is dangerous. Thinking about that i made my way to house.

March 13, 2009 - Posted by | Fact, Issues, Life, Personal, science | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. split personality in my country often reffered as schizofrenia,is real..
    my friend suffering from that..
    just like paranoid

    Comment by idham | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. interesting fact about split personality…

    Comment by sri | March 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. me too feel that this mind disorder is extremely terrible to face..

    Comment by techoncez | March 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. great blog with a lot of interesting stuffs..

    Comment by karthik | March 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. split personality has increased in 20th century.. interesting info.. keep it up..

    Comment by kaar | March 16, 2009 | Reply

  6. Hi, & good day to you, Sriram.

    This is a very disturbing disorder. One cannot be able to trust such kind of two, three, four, & etc faced people. These kind of people tend to be in a state of denial, claiming absolute innocence even by being guilty without doubt.

    By the way, I just posted a new batch of voyage articles & a Forbidden City Palace Museum Historical Artifacts Part I slide show on my blog at http://voyage.aimvotal.com/

    I hope that you may want to take a look at them. Please do leave a comment or two to help me improve my blog. Thanks in advance. Keep in touch.

    Abasster

    Comment by Abas | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  7. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

    Comment by RaiulBaztepo | March 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

