Starbozz’s Blog

My World

Windows 7 Downgrade Option

windows7 Windows 7, the operating system designed and developed by Microsoft, allows users to downgrade their system to lower version of system. It enables the user to utilize this advanced downgrade option if needed.

Downgrade rights have long been a part of the Windows license for certain versions, particularly for businesses. With Vista, the downgrade right was not only marketed by computer makers, but, once Microsoft stopped selling XP, some PC makers sold Vista machines that were “pre-downgraded” to Windows XP.

Microsoft is actually expanding that Vista downgrade rights program slightly, the company confirmed on Monday. Under the new program, PC makers will be able to ship pre-downgraded machines based on anticipated demand for those systems. Until now, computers makers could only ship XP-downgraded machines if a particular customer had specified that is what he or she had wanted.Microsoft plans a similar program for Windows 7, allowing users to go back not only to Vista, should they choose, but also to Windows XP.

Microsoft hasn’t detailed exactly how downgrade rights will work with Windows 7–beyond confirming that users will be able to go back to XP–but presumably the rights will be attached to the Ultimate and Professional versions of Windows 7.

April 7, 2009 - Posted by | Business sector, News, Personal | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Woo! I’m so excited about having a Windows seven touch screen notebook!

    By the way, I have a new site up at aimvotal.com

    Come on over & give me a reply, Starbozz. 🙂

    Comment by Abas | April 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. Wish I had a site like this one, I will link back I think my readers would enjoy your site.

    Comment by Forex Trading | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi, nice post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for blogging. I’ll likely be coming back to your site. Keep up the good work

    Comment by How I Shed Thirty Póunds in Thirty Days | May 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment